Review: Brian Eno’s “2 Forms of Anger”

So I’ve always been a big fan of Warp Records, they have quite a number of epic artists signed to them (!!!, Aphex Twin, Autreche, Bibio, Grizzly Bear) and I love Brian Eno, primarily for his ambient series (Discreet Music, Ambient 1/Music for Airports, Apollo: Atmospheres and Soundtracks), so when Pitchfork told me Eno was releasing a record with them, I became incredibly interested. Not knowing what to expect for Eno, whether it be ambient like the albums I mentioned, or perhaps a more traditional sound, I clicked play without any expectations, and was somewhat blown away by the 62 year old man.

The opening starts out with a sort of dark and swamp-like sound, and eventually evolves into an krautrock-ish jam with Amon Duul II-esque drums over top some very abrasive electronics. About halfway through the song a guitar part that wouldn’t sound out of place in a Sonic Youth song, or a song from the no-wave scene takes place building up to quite the climax. There’s a lot of energy on the track, and its unlike anything I’ve ever heard in my studies of Eno. I’m quite looking forward to Warp’s release of his Small Craft on a Milk Sea on November 2.

-Kevin

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

