The Dismemberment Plan Get Rich (By Reuniting)

Everyone has that one band. The band that made them “get it.” The band that changed their whole perspective on what good music was. For myself and for countless others between 1995 and 2003, Washington DC’s The Dismemberment Plan were that band.

Over the course of their career, The Plan released 4 proper albums on DC label DeSoto Records and even flirted with a major label while recording their opus Emergency & I in 1999. In the early aughts when they were at the height of their powers, the Plan brought along some band called Death Cab For Cutie for a tour that they called “The Death and Dismemberment Tour”…wonder what ever happened to them? Emergency & I and their 2001 album Change are consistently regarded as some of the best albums of the past 20 years by critics and laypeople alike.

The band broke up in 2003, but I didn’t discover their music until late 2005 during my senior year of high school. Nothing was really the same for me after my first few listens of Emergency & I. In fact I would most certainly not be here writing this right now if it weren’t for this album. The Plan were my gateway drug, and now, after 7 years, they have planned a reunion tour and a reissue of Emergency & I itself on double LP for Barsuk records.

Tickets for the tour go on sale Friday, and I will be there representing Fresh Heirs with Lowden and whoever else wants to come along! I encourage everyone to get a taste of The Dismemberment Plan through the video links below!!

The Dismemberment Plan – You Are Invited
The Dismemberment Plan – Time Bomb

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

