Virgin Festival Preview: Ludacris

Ludacris

Kevin’s Take: I’ve always thought of Ludacris as “one step lower” then the elite rappers of today. He’s an amazing wordsmith, but as far as his studio material, its not consistent. I have no idea what this will mean for his live show. Also another thing that has me curious: I’ve never been to a rap show. According to reviews, he has a larger-then live personality, huge charisma, has plenty of guests and knows how to work a crowd.

Daniel’s Take: Confession time. I love rap. It’s all over my iTunes. A Tribe Called Quest, Lil Wayne, T.I., Big Boi, Kanye West. It’s all there. And I love it. I saw Public Enemy at Sasquatch in May, and that was the first time I’d seen a rap or hip hop show live, and it was awesome. There’s no greater experience than bobbing in the same movement as all the people around you to the same music. Ludacris has done some pretty decent work I’ll admit (Justin Bieber not withstanding) and I’m pretty excited to see what he can do live.

Kevin’s Forecast: I would definitely see him. I’m curious to see a live rapper, and I’ve got 3 opportunities to do such, so in the event that a band I want to see more (see: Pavement, LCD Soundsystem, etc) I would skip Ludacris first.

Daniel’s Forecast: I’ll admit I’m looking forward to seeing T.I. more so than Ludacris, but if there’s no one I feel like seeing, I’ll probably stop by Luda’s show to at least observe for a little bit. I’m not going to doubt it’s going to be entertaining and I’m really intrigued to see which guests make an appearance. That’s probably what I’m most excited about for Luda at least. But he’ll definitely be worth the consideration.

–Kevin & Daniel

1 Comment

Filed under Live

One response to “Virgin Festival Preview: Ludacris

  1. Pingback: Virgin Festival Preview Roundup « Fresh Heirs

Leave a Reply

