Virgin Festival Preview: The Temper Trap

The Temper Trap

Daniel’s Take: I hate to throw this term around too much, but The Temper Trap appears to be another band intended for the entry levels at FreeFest. I’ve tried and tried and tried and tried to listen to this band, but it never really does anything for me. There’s no identity. Sometimes it sounds like U2, but other times it sounds like Local Natives. The whole ambience behind the music makes every song feel like it’s supposed to be so dramatic which suggests Grizzly Bear. The only problem is that the band doesn’t makes elements coalesce very well at all. There’s just no identity with them.
Another problem I have with the band’s high billing on the lineup is the billing above bands like Pavement and LCD Soundsystem. The Temper Trap played Sasquatch and played at 1:55 in the afternoon on the main stage. Pavement and LCD had 8:30 and 7:00 slots on the main stage, respectively. This just doesn’t seem right to me. Plus, Pavement and LCD Soundsystem are better bands, by a long shot.
If you want to give The Temper Trap a try, check out the “Sweet Disposition” single. It’s supposed to be big in Australia.
Kevin’s Take: Not to beat a dead horse or anything here, But I really have absolutely no idea why they are headlining this festival. I mean, even from like, a fan of all music standpoint, you have Pavement and LCD Soundsystem for the indie kids (me), M.I.A. for the whoever likes M.I.A. fans, Ludacris and T.I. for the rap fans (also me). I really don’t understand this at all.
Daniel’s Forecast: My first reaction would be “LOL,” but I’d feel too unkind. The Temper Trap is one of the bands I want to see the least at Merriweather. If I was a betting man, I’d say that the band will be the last band to play on a secondary stage, based on the billing of the lineup. But if you’re going to be at FreeFest and want to see some Fresh Heirs, it’s not going to be at The Temper Trap.
Kevin’s Forecast: I really don’t like providing no new insight here, but Daniel pretty much has hit the nail on the head. The Temper Trap just aren’t good. There’s no other way to say it. Why am I still writing? I have no idea. Just don’t expect me to be seeing the Temper Trap. At all. Sorry for that.
-Daniel and Kevin
2 Comments

Filed under Live, Music

2 responses to “Virgin Festival Preview: The Temper Trap

  1. Kurt

    Well, I gave them a 5 song listen, and what I found is that their vocalist can produce some fairly catchy lines at times. Anyways, that’s pretty much the only standout thing I could find. Keep writing guys, I like the site.

  2. Pingback: Virgin Festival Preview Roundup « Fresh Heirs

Leave a Reply

